I am so frustrated

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am so frustrated

I am a student at San Jose State University in California but in my spare time my true passion (besides saltwater tanks) is racing cars. I have raced cars for 4 years now. My first 3 years I road raced go-karts (my 3rd year winning the national championship) and last year I raced an IMCA Modified (finishing 4th in points out of 28).

This year I made some really beautiful sponsorship packets to promote my racecar/team to companies that would like to sponsor a racecar and in return recieve advertising and recognition. The sponsorships started around a couple of hundred dollars and went up to 1000. I sent my sponsorships out via e-mail and all the responses I have recieved back are "we are currently focusing on our national sponsorships and therefore are not interested". This is so frustrating and really a heartbreaker.

What companies don't seem to understand is that if you don't sponsor racecar drivers at the beginning stages of their careers then they have no chance in moving up. If people don't move up then there are less good racecar drivers in the professional levels. You have to support those at the bottom so one day there can be a top level. It is so sad when you really put your heart into something you love and no one is willing to notice your efforts.
    You're Norma Desmond you used to be big.

I am big it's the pictures that got small.

From the classic movie "Sunset Boulevard"