Low nutrients

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low nutrients

I have been using Zeovit for 3 years. I have always had the aquarium with nitrates and phosphates and potassium at 400 with water changes. Now it is at 350 potassium and nitrates and phosphates at 0. I currently use the basic of zeovit. What do you recommend me to do?

ZeoVit Pohl's K-Balance Potassium (250 ml)
    ​your levels are not that low. What kind of skimmer are you using.
    Potassium is one of the key elements for successful reef aquaristics. Since it must be available in a suitable proportion at all times, it is also one of these important elements.

Potassium is a macro element with importance for skeletal growth and cell function as well as nutrient conversion, but at the same time also a “fertilizer” for zooxanthellae. It is therefore important to keep the potassium value as stable as possible.

It is therefore contained in seawater in a comparable quantity to calcium, and it is no less important. The correct concentration in relation to the other macro elements is important for the successful aquarium care of corals. If you maintain a reef tank with mixed coral inhabitants and you use a high-quality brand salt mix to perform regular partial water changes of 10 percent per week, a potassium deficiency will very likely not appear.

Potassium is a macro element that should always be set slightly below the calcium value (Ca value minus 20 mg/l). The optimum value is between 380 and 420 mg/l. Potassium is a nutrient and part of the supply process for corals and biofilms.

Comment