Preparing Inovative Marine 150 Lagoon for Zeovit System

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Preparing Inovative Marine 150 Lagoon for Zeovit System

So, I've been keeping marine tanks for over 30 years. I've maintained LPS and soft corals for 20 years and recently become interested in keeping SPS. I currently have two display marine aquariums and one 40 gallon coral QT tank. I have a 220 gallon mixed reef that has been going for about 6 years. It's mostly LPS and Soft Corals with a handful of easy SPS. I use Tropic Marin products for mineral supplementation and nutrient control. It has worked very well for me and my aquarium inhabitants. I recently set up a new 150 gallon aquarium in my office in September of this year. I would like to go all SPS on the rock structures with a few LPS coral islands on the sand. I've been interested in the Zeovit System for many years and am ready to give it a go with this tank. I very much enjoy working on my aquariums every day so daily dosing, shaking the stones etc will not be bothersome. I currently maintain my minerals using Tropic Marin All For Reef on a Red Sea Dosing pump. I also dose Tropic Marin NP Bacto Balance daily for carbon dosing. In my sump I have fleece filter followed by a Tunze Skimmer & Algae Turf Scrubber. I also run UV 24/7. I plan on removing the Algae Turf Scrubber and only running the UV at night and possibly removing the UV all together once I'm comfortable with how the tank is going. I will replace the Tropic Marin All For Reef with Carbo Calcium and Magnesium so there are no additional additives going into the system. Obviously the Bacto Balance will be replaced by the KZ products. I also run Seachem Matrix Carbon passively and plan to continue to do so. I have a Zeovit Reactor I am customizing for the stones. I would prefer to run it at a reduced flow for the first 4-6 weeks rather than the on/off 3 hours method. My plan is to get everything up and running by the New Year. I will be star