Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Increasing PH while using the Zeovit method

Hi everyone,

I have been using Zeovit for many years and I'm very happy with the results I achieve. That being said, I am embarking on a coral farming Bussiness and would like to maximise growth of SPS coral while using Zeovit. I currently run Calcium Reactors for my supplementation which gives me a slight decline in PH values. My tanks run from 8.0 to 8.25. Recently a well known coral wholesaler/ farmer / distributor in the US has claimed he is seeing extraordinary growth from his corals by maintaining PH at a constant level of 8.5. He does this by slowly dosing an extremely alkaline and dangerous chemical, which I will not mention.

I understand that Kalkwasser is not supported under the Zeovit method. Is there anything else I can do to maintain PH at high levels constantly that is safe to use with Zeovit?

Thank you for your time.

Hello [email protected], let me talk about my thoughts, I can't say mine is right, you can refer to it. I can't tell you whether higher PH helps corals grow faster. Compared with PH, the level of nutrients (N, P) does affect the growth of corals. However, I always change the water every week, which refreshes the elements in a balanced way (this balance includes a lot of trace elements, PH, etc.), and always maintains a constant KH level, this constant and stable KH level Basically, the pH level will not differ too much. Even if the pH reaches 7.8, I can't see much difference, and the health and appearance of corals will not affect it. Another thing to say is that the importance of precise salinity is the same as mentioned above. Basically, they do not differ too much, and they have a certain inline and balance relationship with each other.

I know that some people use the following methods to raise the PH, such as connecting a hose to the skimmer inlet and transferring it to the outdoors to let in fresh air.