New Tank first time running zeovit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Tank first time running zeovit

This is my first time running zeovit, the net water volume of my tank is 150 gallons (120 display, 30 in sump) and it has been running for 20 days now. At this point I have not added any coral just tree small fish (a damsel and two chromis). Only about 10 percent of the rock I used was live cultured with bacteria beforehand, the rest was dry rock as well as dry sand. I have been dosing Zeo bak, zeo start, zeo food, and sponge power as recommend for a new tank from a tread on this forum. Nitrate is still a bit high, I figured this is due to using so much dry rock. I have an RODI unite but having a difficult time getting it to operate properly so I filled my tank with RO drinking water initially, this gave me a high phosphate level. I started to notice specks of dark brown almost black algae with small air bubbles growing on the substrate and rocks, I have turned off the lights now to impede the growth until I can lower the phosphate levels. What would be the best way to lower phosphate in a zeovit system? Will keeping the lights off effect the bacteria growth?

Don’t know if your initial Zeo basal dose is correct, #7 in this link

https://forum.zeovit.com/forum/gener...nformation-faq

Keep this recommended dose from day 14. Biology is not very stable, there is no live rock, which prolongs the time of biological health, add a few snails to help, and start to use KZ carbon to keep the equipment running (lighting). The first zeolite material is retained for the first 4 weeks, after which 50% of the material (old) is replaced, each time the Zeo Bac material is replaced for 10 days, and the flow rate of the zeolite reactor is checked. It is recommended to stop Zeo Food temporarily and use Zeo SpongPower. Carefully check the water parameters as much as possible to maintain the NSW level, to maintain a weekly change of 10% of the water.