Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting my new tank: Red Sea Reefer 200 XL

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to the forum and the Zeovit method, although I've been keeping marines for more than 10 years. Since space is a bit limited, I opted for the Red Sea Reefer 200 XL. Display tank volume (as filled) is approx 150 liter with a sump volume (as filled) of about 35 liters. The tank was set up with 17kg of dry rock/base rock and about 3kg of live rock and approx 3-4 cm aragonite as substrate. I started the tank with the Zeovit system. The system is now 7 days old and I can already see some sponges & tunicates starting to grow on the live rock and the first signs of green algae, but other than that there is not much happening as yet. No diatoms/cyano etc.

Equipment wise, I run the following:

Lighting: Red Sea Reef LED 90
    In tank flow: Red Sea Reefwave 25 Gyre pump (7000lph)
    Skimmer: Red Sea RSK 600 - Skimmer is still bedding down and skims either very wet or not at all. Will adjust this in the next week or so.
    Return pump: Tunze 1073.02 (2000 lph) - Will upgrade this shortly to a Aqua Medic DC Runner 3.2 (3000lph)
    Inkbird temperature controller with 2 x 200W heaters
    Kamoer P4 Pro dosing pump - will be commissioned at a later stage when the need for dosing arises
    Red Sea filter sock - Will be replaced shortly with a media cup and filter floss

I have some questions:

1. Due to space constraints, I currently have the Zeolites in a mesh bag in the skimmer compartment since no reactor will fit in the sump. I do shake the mesh bag twice daily, but just wondering if there would be any long term issues with keeping the Zeolite mesh bag in the skimmer compartment ? Should I switch off the skimmer temporarily when shaking up the Zeolites and dosing Zeobak, Zeofood, Sponge power etc?