I couldnt leave well enough alone!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I couldnt leave well enough alone!!!

I need some advice from the zeo experts. I have been using zeo for about 5 months now. Everything has been going great. The bubble algae problem I had is completely gone. I only need to clean my glass once a week (If I remember) vs daily in the past. My sps were getting great color. So why didnt I leave everything alone?

I decided to remove my shallow sand bed last weekend. Pulling it out went fine. I didnt lose any corals. However, parts of my sand bed and the bottoms of some of my LR were black. The smell was awful. Since the change I have noticed my colors have darkened alot. I believe it is due to nutrients released into the water from the putrid LR. I should have disgarded the pieces with the black areas, but I didnt. Everything is doing okay. I just dont have my previous colors.

My tank water volume is 50 gal (40 gal with 10 gal sump). I am dosing the following:

Start 1 - .10ml twice a day
    Bak - 2 drops twice a week
    Food - 2 drops twice a week.

I am going to change out my stones on Tuesday. Any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

Joseph

I would stick with the dosing schedule that got you this far. I think you are just seeing the added nutrients being released from those newly exposed surfaces. Maybe an extra water change or two might help as well. It may take some time to get back on track but IMO it won't be as long as the initial phase when you first started zeo.
    SteveU
    “People are very open-minded about new things - as long as they're exactly like the old ones.”
    ...Charles F. Kettering

Comment

Agree with GTR.
      Just keep on keeping on, the zeo will work through the nutrients and your livestock will return to primo health.
      And also your tank will eventually benefit from having the sandbed removed, it would probably have continued to accumulate nasties, you did the right thing.

Comment