Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• this stuff is new to me

Hey guys.
    The way this tank is going I should be an expert on bad algea..I've never seen this stuff before.. PLEASE, what is it and what eats it? I think I might know but I don't want to hear it.

[email protected]

It starts witha B...

Bryopsis..??

ahahaha thats what I think it is.

Mine went away after I did BB, looks from the pic that you are BB...

IMO it is caused by bad water quality(poor skimmer), overfeeding, or not using reverse osmosis water.
    Proud owner of an Elegance Coral "that lived". (It is thriving whith long tentacle tips...purchased in January 2005.) It has white tentacle tips, I beleive this has something to do with ones that will typically live due to the collection site.

Comment

I am not an expert on algae identification but there is only one way it can grow like that and that is when there is too much fertilizer (aka nutrients) in the water.
      400 gallon reef, Bubble King 300, I~Spin, 2 x 10,000K BLV 400W, 2 x 20,000K Radium 400W, 2 x 6,400K Osram 400W, Schuran Jetstream 1, AquaController Pro

Comment

Hi Mark, is this a ZEOvit tank? As Timon, said, this system is running nutrient-rich. The HA, btw, is Derbasia, which needs manual removal as it appears, along with nutrient reduction procedures. Bob
        "There might be something to this ZEOvit"

Comment

Greetings All !

It would appear to be a Derbasia species ... definitely. One of the things that makes Derbasia so difficult to control is that it demonstrates a variety of different reproductive patterns.

... needs manual removal as it appears, along with nutrient reduction procedures.
          Absolutely ... A tootbrush will be helpful with removal from the clam, and a long-term nutrient reduction strategy is the only way to really be "rid" of it.

Sprung suggests the following ...