Opinions on ca reactor needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on ca reactor needed

I've never used a ca reactor before, but may take the plunge with a Korallin C1502 Calcium Reactor. Anybody got any opinions on this reactor?

As per this https://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewI...product=KL1502

Also, this reactor is rated quite a bit bigger than my tank, can it be turned down OK?

No personal experience but it has a good reputation AFAIK.

As far as it being too big for your tank, the dissolving rate is controlled by the amount of CO2 you put in, and since you control this with the valve on your CO2 tank it should not be a problem.
    400 gallon reef, Bubble King 300, I~Spin, 2 x 10,000K BLV 400W, 2 x 20,000K Radium 400W, 2 x 6,400K Osram 400W, Schuran Jetstream 1, AquaController Pro

Comment

I have a Korallin 1502. It is a well built reactor but getting it set up to control drip and bubbble rate was difficult using the valves it come with. Trying to use a 1/4 turn valve to regulate a drop a second is a joke. Also, the tube fittings it uses leak very easily.

I was getting ready to buy a Schuran but I finally got the 1502 to work.

I had to change out the 1/4 turn valve and installed a Nupro needle valve I bought off of ebay. The needle valve solved the drip rate problem.

Also controlling the CO2 bubble rate to maintain a pH of 6.4 was difficult to do because un used CO2 could accumulate in the top of the reactor and would eventually cause the recirculation pump to stop working. There is a vent valve on the top to vent off the accumulated CO2, but I often never knew it was a problem the system shut down.